Death Became Us, Life Becomes Us

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be a zombie? To die and then come back to life? What would that be like? What got me to ask myself these questions is the story of Lazarus. Now he wouldn’t really be considered a zombie, but technically he was. He died and 4 days later was raised from the dead.

The main question that keeps brewing in my head is “How would Lazarus live his life after his resurrection”? Would he dig up his savings account out of the field and buy a new donkey so that he could do the traveling he’s always wanted to do? What about trying all the things he never got around to doing in his previous life? Or would he find a wife and start a family?

If you think about it; we as Christ follower’s are all zombies. A breed of zombies that don’t hunger for flesh but for the Spirit. We were raised from the death of sin and made alive in Christ. “But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved.” -Ephesians 2:4-5. We are all given a “second chance” at life when we hand it over to Christ. No longer are we dead! As Dora the Explorer would say it “Can you say “Celebrate”? Very Good!” I fully believe that when Lazarus came out of that tomb; the very first thing he did was rejoice and praise his Lord and Savior. If his faith wasn’t very strong before, it would be powerful now.

God can do some amazing things in our lives if we just let Him. For me, it was the scare of cancer that pushed me over the edge. My faith became real and is continually growing inside of me. There is no regrets, only dedication. He is my life because before Him I didn’t have one. We’re alive, every breath is new, every heartbeat is precious, every sight and sound is breathtaking. We live. Now live like it.

Leave a comment